be·lief/biˈlēf/
Noun:
An acceptance that a statement is true or that something exists.
Something one accepts as true or real; a firmly held opinion or conviction.

Its a crazy thing this ability we have labeled belief. It is such a big part of each of lives. We utilize this ability daily and to a certain degree it is safe to say that we don’t truly appreciate and exercise it’s power to its full potential.

When I first hear the word I attach it to religion almost instantaneously, when in reality it roots from a different part of human life. Detaching that concept for enlightenment purposes, the word gives birth to a new concept.

To me belief is what helps me get better when I am sick. I am not a complete naturalist, but medicines hold a stigma in my heart. I have taken antibiotics a hand full of times in the 25 years I have been sharing this Earth with our 7 billion and rising population. I feel as though my belief is more of a healer than the prescribed doses of “whatever’s” my doctor gives me. A large dose of mental assertiveness and stamina is more powerful than any dose of acetaminophen. People survive Cancer, although cases differ from person to person, the fact that it happens is remarkable. I feel like belief in the body has a part to play in the miracles we witness. Once I mentally give up, my body has no choice but to follow. Belief in the hurdle will help me see it, belief in myself will help you jump it.

Mahatma Gandhi said, Be the change you want to see in the world. This is belief in itself. Believe the change and transform the noun into a verb. Although we witness atrocities and injustices everyday, my belief in humanity will never die. I can sit in my room for days accepting that nothing will change, and the result will match this prediction, so why not believe the opposite and change the lines of our destiny?.

Believe not in what we are told, but what we feel. I believe in the ability to believe, for it will be the single most important ability that will help make or brake me. My belief in myself is what helps me get to where I want to go. My belief is open to my world, and can be anything I want it to be. For it is indeed MY excepted truth. I choose to never stop believing as long as I shall live….Who knows, maybe even after…

Peace, Love, Solidarity.

Nivie.

